SKIP navigation
UNO | Student Government

Executive Members

nobody
Martha Spangler
402-554-2620
mspangler@unomaha.edu
President/Regent
nobody
Benjamin Kaipust
402-554-2620
bkaipust@unomaha.edu
Vice President
nobody
David Farris
402-554-2620
dfarris@unomaha.edu
Executive Treasurer
nobody
Linyu Huang
402-554-2620
linyuhuang@unomaha.edu
Public Relations Officer
nobody
Joseph Nabity
402-554-2620
jnabity@unomaha.edu
Chief Administrative Officer

Overview

The Executive Branch is comprised of five officers who are responsible for the day-to-day operations of Student Government. The five executive officers make up the Executive Council, which meets weekly to conduct business and ensure that the vision and mission statement of Student Government is being carried out.

President/Regent

The Student Body President/Regent represents all UNO students on the University of Nebraska Board of Regents. On campus, the President/Regent meets with administrators, staff, and faculty in effort to improve the student experience on campus.  He or she also serves as the official representative of the student body at various university functions.

Vice President

The Vice President assists in coordinating visits and special requests by students and will also stand in and assist the President/Regent when necessary. Additionally, the Vice President oversees the Freshmen Leadership Council (FLC) and appoints eligible applicants to the Student Senate, Student Court, Traffic Appeals, and to university-wide committees.

Chief Administrative Officer

The Chief Administrative Officer is in charge of the upkeep of the Student Government office, supervises the five Student Government Agencies, and proposes the annual budget. He or she plans annual retreats, banquets, and installations and also appoints and supervises the five Student Government Agency Directors.

Executive Treasurer

The Executive Treasurer authorizes and maintains the revenues and expenditures of all Student Government accounts, organizes and chairs the Student Activities Budget Commission (SABC) each spring, which is responsible for allocating a portion of Student Fees, and is a valuable resource on the topic of student fees at the University of Nebraska at Omaha.

Public Relations Officer

The Public Relations Officer is in charge of advertising and promoting Student Government throughout the year, with special emphasis on student elections each fall. This position also appoints nine students to serve on the Election Commission and works closely with the Commission to ensure high voter turn-out.

Legislative Members

nobody
Anna Berg
402-554-2620
aberg@unomaha.edu
Senior Class Senator
nobody
Kyle Broich
402-554-2620
kbroich@unomaha.edu
Public Affairs & Community Service Senator
nobody
Andrew White
402-554-2620
andrewwhite@unomaha.edu
Education Senator
nobody
Apply Now



Arts & Sciences Senator
nobody
Tyler Anderson
402-554-2620
tyleranderson@unomaha.edu
Arts & Sciences Senator
nobody
Scott Trickel
402-554-2620
strickel@unomaha.edu
Arts & Sciences Senator
nobody
Miranda Davis
402-554-2620
mjdavis@unomaha.edu
Communication, Fine Arts & Media Senator
nobody
Jordan Koch
402-554-2620
jekoch@unomaha.edu
Education Senator
Speaker of the Senate
nobody
James Reitmeier
402-554-2620
jreitmeier@unomaha.edu
Engineering Senator
Academic Committee Chairperson
nobody
Apply Now



University Division Senator
nobody
Jennifer Short
402-554-2620
jrshort@unomaha.edu
Public Affairs & Community Service Senator
nobody
Alec Drey
402-554-2620
adrey@unomaha.edu
Senior Class Senator
nobody
Theodore Kirkpatrick
402-440-7060
tkirkpatrick@unomaha.edu
Business Administration Senator
nobody
Apply Now



Graduate Class Senator
nobody



Information Science & Technology Senator
nobody
Maggie Peterson
402-554-2620
maggiepeterson11@yahoo.com
Public Affairs & Community Services Senator
nobody
Anna Di Ruocco
402-554-2620
adiruocco@unomaha.edu
Business Administration Senator
nobody
Amanda Chapin
402-554-2620
achapin7@yahoo.com
Arts & Sciences Senator
nobody
Brock Lewis
402-554-2620
bblewis@unomaha.edu
IS & T Senator
nobody
Madison Bowman
402-554-2620
madisonbowman@unomaha.edu
Communication, Fine Arts & Media Senator
nobody
Nicole Sweet
402-554-2620
nsweet@unomaha.edu
Junior Class Senator
nobody
Madison Mapes
402-554-2620
mmapes@unomaha.edu
Sophomore Class Senator
nobody
Alec Drey
402-554-2620
adrey@unomaha.edu
Senior Class Senator
nobody
Apply Now



Graduate College Senator
nobody
Nicole Partusch
402-554-2620
nrpartusch@gmail.com
Sophomore Class Senator
nobody
Adam MacKenzie
402-554-2620
amackenzie@unomaha.edu
Junior Class Senator
nobody
Jeffery Wattier
402-554-2620
jwattier@unomaha.edu
Graduate Class Senator
nobody
Olivia Whittaker
402-554-2620
owhittaker@unomaha.edu
Arts & Science Senator
nobody
Apply Now



Graduate College Senator
nobody
Madison Bowman
402-554-2620
madisonbowman@unomaha.edu
Communication, Fine Arts & Media Senator

Overview

The Legislative Branch consists of 32 elected Student Senators. Two seats are allocated to each of the five classes: Freshman, Sophomore, Junior, Senior, and Graduate. The remaining 22 seats represent the Colleges and Divisions of the University, which are apportioned on an annual basis by Election Commission using the most current enrollment data. The Student Senate acts as the official student voice on the UNO campus. Student Senators create, adopt, amend, and approve legislation that is in the best interest of the student body.

Student Senators

Student Senators are elected officials representing each college and class from the University of Nebraska at Omaha. Senators attend weekly meetings, research and propose legislation that is in the best interest of their constituents, and act as the official voice of the student body.

Speaker of the Senate

The Speaker of the Senate is a Student Senator who is elected among fellow Senators to serve as the chairperson of the Senate. He or she acts as a liaison between the Legislative and Executive Branches, creates Senate Agendas, supervises all Senate committees, appoints various Student Government officials, and serves as the leader of the Senate by word and example.

Parliamentarian

The Parliamentarian is a Student Senator who helps to maintain order at Senate meetings by making sure business is conducted in accordance with the Student Government Constitution, By-laws, as well as Roberts Rules of Order. In the absence of the Speaker, the Parliamentarian serves as chairperson of the Senate.

Sergeant at Arms

The Sergeant at Arms is a Student Senator who helps to maintain order at Senate meetings. He or She assigns seating and escorts members from the Senate chamber upon the order of the Speaker. In the absence of the Speaker and the Parliamentarian, the Sergeant at Arms serves as chairperson of the Senate.

Student Senate Committee Chairpersons

Committee Chairpersons are Student Senators who are appointed to serve as the leader of a specific Senate committee. One chairperson for each of the following committees: Academic Excellence Committee, Campus Improvement Committee, Internal Affairs Committee, and Student Services Committee. Each chairperson is tasked with leading his or her respective committee meetings, as well as leading the committee to accomplish their goals.

Student Court Justices

nobody
Cody Brdicko
402-990-9626
cbrdicko@unomaha.edu
Student Court Justice
nobody
Monika Root
402-710-2576
mroot@unomaha.edu
Student Court Justice
nobody
Ashley Bodfield
402-554-2620
abodfield@unomaha.edu
Student Court Justice
nobody
Apply Now



Student Court Justice
nobody



Student Court Justice
nobody
Tanner Woslager
402-554-2620
twoslager@unomaha.edu
Business Administration Senator

Traffic Appeals Commission Members

nobody
William Choate
402-554-2620
wchoate@unomaha.edu
Traffic Appeals Commission Chairperson
nobody
Caroline Nabity
402-554-2620
cenabity@unomaha.edu
Traffic Appeals Commission Member
nobody
Heather Stevenson
402-554-2620
hcharland@unomaha.edu
Traffic Appeals Commission Member
nobody
Micaela Adam
308-760-8582
micaelaadam945@gmail.com
Traffic Appeals Commission Member

Election Commission Members

Overview

The Judicial Branch is comprised of three bodies: the Student Court, the Election Commission, and the Traffic Appeals Commission.

Student Court

The Student Court is made up of five Justices, with one serving as Chief Justice. The Court has final jurisdiction over conflicts arising under the Student Government Constitution and By-Laws, rules and resolutions of the Student Senate, between and within Student Organizations, traffic ticket appeals, and student election grievances.

Traffic Appeals Commission

The Traffic Appeals Commission, comprised of five members, with one serving as chairperson, is in charge of reviewing and recommending action for all traffic/parking ticket appeals filed by students through UNO Campus Security.

Election Commission

The Election Commission is made up of nine members, with one serving as chairperson. This commission is responsible for counseling candidates during the election season, determining the merit of grievances filed against candidates for office, implementing and enforcing election rules and provisions, and is also responsible for the validation of the election results.

Agency Directors

nobody
Dylan Zaner
402-554-2620
dzaner@unomaha.edu
Gender and Sexual Orientation Director
nobody
Basma Basma
402-305-7810
bbasma@unomaha.edu
International Student Services Director
nobody
Kelsey McAlpine
402-215-7570
kmcalpine@unomaha.edu
Network for Disability Awareness Director
nobody
April Corbet
402-813-1596
acorbet@unomaha.edu
Women's Resource Center Director
nobody
Joy Kathurima
402-860-0517
joykathurima@gmail.com
American Multicultural Students Director

Overview

In order to better serve the needs of fellow students, Student Government has created five separate Student Agencies whose mission is to promote, educate, and serve our campus. Please see the Agencies tab for more information.

Agency Directors

Student Government Agency Directors are appointed each year to serve our campus through the planning and offering of educational events and services aimed at providing memorable and meaningful experiences for students on our campus. Each Agency Director is the contact person and resident expert for his or her respective Student Government Agency.

Freshmen Leadership Council Members

nobody
Jacob Robinson
402-554-2620
jerobinson@unomaha.edu
Member
nobody
Katherine Malone
402-554-2620
katherine.malone16@gmail.com
Member
nobody
Taylor (TJ) Starman
402-554-2620
tj.starman@gmail.com
Member
nobody
Ashley Spurlock
402-554-2620
aspurlock@unomaha.edu
Member
nobody
Sandra Ojer
402-554-2620
sojer@unomaha.edu
Member
nobody
Katherine Schwartz
402-554-2620
katieschwartz93@gmail.com
Member
nobody
Hannah Fus
402-554-2620
hannahfus@yahoo.com
Member

Overview

The Freshmen Leadership Council is made up of approximately 20 Freshmen Leaders who meet to learn more about the UNO campus and UNO Student Government. The Vice President oversees the operations of the FLC, including the special projects of the group. FLC elects two members to attend Student Senate sessions, acting as the official Freshmen voice on campus.

Office Administration Members

nobody
Ben Jager
402-554-2711
bjager@unomaha.edu
Advisor
nobody
Nancy Gleason
402-554-2620
ngleason@unomaha.edu
Office Secretary

Overview

Student Government Office Administration consists of individuals who help the organization function day in and day out.

Office Secretary

The Student Government Office Secretary assists in the daily functions and operations of the Student Government office. The position is a professional staff position through the University.

Advisor

The Student Government Advisor provides guidance to members of Student Government and assists with projects and endeavors taken on by SG-UNO. When necessary, the Advisor advocates on behalf of Student Government to University personnel. This position is a professional staff position within UNO's Student Organizations & Leadership Programs office.